Executive Committee

The current FIA Executive Committee, elected in 2016 at the 21st FIA Congress in Sao Paulo, Brazil, is made of:


Brazil, Russia, Canada, France, United-States, United Kingdom, Denmark, Sweden, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Uruguay, Switzerland, Turkey, Croatia


PRESIDENT, Ferne Downey

Ferne Downey was re-elected President of FIA in 2016 and she represents the voice of the Federation’s membership. She is the President of ACTRA, the Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists, representing over 22,000 professional performers in the English-language recorded media in Canada. Ferne is a graduate of Dalhousie University’s Theatre Department and Harvard’s Trade Union leadership program. She has spent the past 30 years working as an actor in radio, television, film and theatre and is also a member of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association. Since 2011, Ferne Downey has served as a General Vice-President on the Executive of the Canadian Labour Congress.


Christine Payne is a Vice-President and Treasurer of FIA. She is the General Secretary of Equity UK representing over 38,000 performers and creative personnel across the entire spectrum of entertainment and the arts.  Christine joined Equity in 1979 as an Organising Assistant in the Recorded Media (RM) department. Christine is on the PPL Performer and main boards and is a member of the Boards of Creative Skillset and the Educational Recording Agency (ERA). She is Chair of the Creative Coalition Campaign formed in August 2009 to address the threat that online copyright infringement, including illegal file-sharing, presents to future content creation and jobs in the creative industries.


Katja Holm is Vice-president of FIA since 2016. She is a Danish actress graduated from acting school in 1997. She was elected to the Council at the Danish Actors Association in 2000 and became President in 2009. She is still an active actress, and has recently participated in “The Bridge 3” and “The Heirs” (Arvingerne). She is also a member of the council at the Danish national commission in UNESCO.

VICE-PRESIDENT, Ligia de Paula Souza

 Ligia de Paula Souza is Vice-President of FIA since 2016. She is the President of SATED/SP, Sindicato dos Artistas e Técnicos em Espetáculos de Diversões de São Paulo, Brazil (the union representing the interests of artists and technicians in the state of São Paulo). A film, television and theatre actress, Ligia de Paula Souza started working on radio and television when she was a child. As a grown-up, she performed on stage with some of the greatest Brazilian directors before starting a movie career. She played in about 30 movies. Ligia has been involved with SATED/SP since 1975.


VICE-PRESIDENT, Denys Fouqueray

Denys Fouqueray is Vice-President of FIA since 2016 and has been an actor for almost 40 years. While primarily active in theatre in the last years, he also performed in movies and in many audiovisual productions, including international productions. He is a member of the Syndicat français des artistes-interprètes, SFA, since 1987 and has been elected to the national board in 1995. He is particularly involved in the issues related to live performance and international activity.



David White is the national executive director and chief negotiator of Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artist (SAG-AFTRA). A Rhodes Scholar, White is a graduate of Grinnell College, Stanford Law School and The Queen’s College, Oxford University. He is chair of the board of the SAG-Producers Pension and Health plans, former chair of the board of trustees of Grinnell College and former vice chair of the Industry Advancement and Cooperative Fund. He is a trustee of the AFTRA Health & Retirement funds, a board member of the Motion Picture and Television Fund, the SAG Foundation, The Actors Fund and Volunteers of America–Greater Los Angeles. He is also a member of both the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

VICE-PRESIDENT, Vladimir Kamen

Vladimir Kamen is a Russian national and is Vice-President of FIA since 2016. Vladimir has been involved with FIA since 1983 when he joined the then Cultural Workers' Union of the USSR as an International Officer. Following the breakup of the Soviet Union at the end of 1991 he started working for the Consultative Council of Cultural Workers' Unions (CCCWU), a regional trade union association set up as a successor to the disbanded Soviet Cultural Workers' Union, and was FIA’s resident representative in the former Soviet Union throughout the 1990’s. Vladimir is the convener of FIA-Eurasia, a new regional group within FIA that includes nine Unions from Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, and the Ukraine. He also serves as the General Secretary of the CCCWU that brings together unions from 11 countries of the Caucasus, East Europe and Central Asia, with an overall membership of just under a million spanning a rich variety of cultural trades and professions from performers to printers and librarians.